Home  |  Contact Us  |  English
Home > 센터활동 > Conference
작성자 관리자 날짜 2008-03-06
제목 21st Spring School On Particle & Fields (Mar. 31~April. 3, 2008)


Spring School On Particles & Fields 

School Purpose

The spring school on particles and fields was initiated by Prof. Chien-Er Lee of National Cheng-Kung University at Shi-Tou in 1986. The idea was motivated by planning of National Science Council in 1984-85 for future scientific developments, in which particles and fields were chosen as one of the five potential research directions in physics. The invited speakers of the first school included Drs. Ting-Wai Chiu, Ming-Kong Fung, Chin-Rong Lee, Shih-Chang Lee, D.G. Lin, Wen-Long Lin, Jen-Fa Min, Jiin-Chang Shaw, Edward Yan, Tung-Mow Yan, Wai-Bong Yeung, and Hoi-Lai Yu, who gave 22 lectures totally.

The purpose of the spring schools is mainly educational, delivering the basic knowledge and the most recent progress on particles and fields to graduate students. The lecturers of the first few schools were from local universities and Academia Sinica. With more and more junior PhDs joining the community, it is necessary to maintain young researchers' thrust. The schools, playing the crucial role of keeping the academic communication between Taiwan and the world, then turn internationlized gradually. Lecturers and participants were
no longer limited to domestic people since 1990. Asia Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics located at Pohang, Korea became one of the sponsers in 2007, under whose support many students in Asia began to attend the schools.

The spring school on particles and fields, as an annual activity of the community, has the longest tradition in Taiwan. Her role, her format, and her purpose are still evolving. A more leisurely format was tried as an Easter Formosa Summer School in 2004. The program committee with members representing different institutions and different subfields was formed in 2006. The mission for making scientific programs of the schools was then separated from the organization committee. The experimental subjects are more emphasized, viewing the growth of the local experimental community. More inputs and dedications from young generations are required for ensuring the success of the schools.

Program Committee

Chuan-Hung Chen (NCKU)
Kingman Cheung (NTHU)
Pei-Ming Ho (NTU)
Otto Kong (NCU)
Wolung Lee (NTNU)
Guey-Lin Lin (chair, NCTU)
Chopin Soo (NCKU)
Chung-Hsiang Wang (NUU)
Henry Wong (AS)
Kwei-Chou Yang (CYCU)





Spring School On Particles & Fields



National Science Council

Academia Sinica



Host University and Institute

35 Baekbeom-ro (Sinsu-dong), Mapo-gu, Seoul 04107, Korea | Tel : +82-2-705-7865 | Fax : +82-2-704-9031
Copyright ⓒ 2009 Center for Quantum Spacetime. All rights reserved. | E.Mail : cquest@sogang.ac.kr
개인정보처리방침 | 개인정보보호관리규정
우수연구센터 마크